Rainbow Love

Rainbow of natural dyed silks.
Rainbow of natural dyed silks.

When I learned that the ancient science of our Chakra system equates the seven chakras with the colors of the rainbow, it peeked my interest.  My obsession with rainbows has been going on for awhile.  For the last few years I have been taking a bit of a voyage, attempting to better understand the chakras in all their rainbow splendor.

Just what are they? Simply put, the chakras are believed to be energy centers in our bodies. Each energy center oversees our health in a particular area of our life and within our physical body. If one of your chakras are out of whack your whole system is hindered, and ease and health soon depart. Gaining balance brings you back to health.

As a rank beginner in the field I have spent lots of time researching various aspects. I have gone to healers who propose that they are able to balance my chakras, I have practiced a wide variety of chakra meditations, I made seven quilted chakra banners as gifts to various alternative healers who have helped me on my path. I have painted and colored any number of things with a rainbow spectrum. I have beaded gemstone necklaces in every color, and sewn myself a rainbow of dresses and aprons, which has allowed me to try out dedicating one day per week to each chakra and wearing the color associated with it on that day.  At work I even organized my file drawer for doing referrals in chakra color order rather than alphabetically  –  for instance information on cardiology is in the green section which correlates with the heart chakra.

I love to organize any colorful thing I encounter in rainbow order. It makes me feel happy. For some of you this may all seem like silliness.  For others the significance of our energy centers is well known, and so you might even now be nodding wisely in agreement.  Regardless, I thought it would be fun to do a pictorial tour of the chakras using flower pictures I have taken over the years. Who knows, maybe just drinking in the colors will open up your life to greater health, happiness and wellbeing. From top to bottom. Enjoy.

Seventh Chakra, the crown chakra is violet
Seventh Chakra, the Crown Chakra is violet
Sixth Chakra, the brow Chakra is indigo
Sixth Chakra, the Brow Chakra is indigo
fifth chakra, the Throat chakra - color a clear blue or turquoise.
Fifth Chakra, the Throat chakra – color a clear blue or turquoise.
Fourth Chakra is the Heart Chakra, color is green
Fourth Chakra is the Heart Chakra, color is green
Third Chakra is the solar plexus chakra Color is yellow.
Third Chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra – color is yellow.
Second Chakra color is orange.
Second Chakra, within your pelvic bowl, Its color is orange.
The First Chakra, known as the Root Chakra, is at the base of our spine. Its color is red.
The First Chakra, the Root Chakra, located at the base of our spine.  Color is red.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.